Job Market Candidates 2020-21

Placement Director
Prof. Ken Hendricks
608-263-3869
hendrick@ssc.wisc.edu

Placement Administrator
Becca George
608-263-3879
becca.george@wisc.edu

Md Moshi Ul Alam

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   alam4@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Employee Side Discrimination: Beliefs and Preferences
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Public Economics, Development Economics, Applied Econometrics
References:   Christopher Taber, Jeffrey Smith, Jesse Gregory, Korinna Hansen (teaching)

Nicolás Badaracco

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   badaracco@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Time Investment Responses of Parents and Students to School Inputs
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Applied Econometrics
References:   Christopher Taber (chair), Jeffrey Smith, Matthew Wiswall, Chao Fu

Gary Baker

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   gary.baker@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Consumer theory for cheap information
Areas of Concentration:  Economic Theory, Information Economics, Statistical Decision Theory
References:   Lones Smith (advisor), Daniel Quint, Marek Weretka, Elizabeth Kelly (teaching)

Eirik Brandsaas

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   eebrandsaas@gmail.com
Job Market Paper:   Illiquid Homeownership and the Bank of Mom and Dad
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics, Household Finance, Housing/Urban, and Family Economics
References:  Dean Corbae, Erwan Quintin, Ananth Seshadri, Corina Mommaerts

Francesco Celentano

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·    celentano@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “How do Independent Boards Affect Shareholder Value? Evidence from a Structural Estimation
Areas of Concentration:   Corporate Finance, Banking, Macroeconomics
References:   Dean Corbae, Oliver Levine, Antonio Mello, Erwan Quintin

Kohei Iwasaki

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   kiwasaki@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Cryptocurrency Bubbles and Costly Mining
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory, Finance
References:  Randall Wright (Chair), Erwan Quintin, Marzena Rostek

Junhyong Kim

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   jkim666@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Impact of Uncertainty Shocks on the Investment of Small and Large Firms: Micro Evidence and Macro Implications
Areas of Concentration:   International Economics, Macroeconomics
References:   Charles Engel (Main advisor), Kenneth West, Dean Corbae

Lu Liao

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   lu.liao@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Advertising Incentives of National Brands against Private Labels”
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Health Economics, Advertising, Applied Econometrics
References:   Alan Sorensen, Kenneth Hendricks, Lorenzo Magnolfi

Daniel McLeod

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   dpmcleod@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Pooling Passenger Flows During Recession in the Airline Industry: Are Economies of Density Strong Enough?
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
References:   Kenneth Hendricks, Lorenzo Magnolfi, Alan Sorensen

Arpita Patnaik

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   patnaik3@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Pricing, Income and College Major Choice
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Public Economics
References:   Matthew Wiswall (Chair), John Kennan, Ananth Seshadri

Diwakar Raisingh

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   raisingh@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Effect of Pre-Announcements on Participation and Bidding in Dynamic Auctions
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization/Finance, Auctions, Dynamic Games
References:   Kenneth Hendricks, Jean-François Houde, Alan Sorensen

Elan Segarra

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·    segarra@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Birth, Death, and Record Linkage: Conducting Survival Analysis in the Presence of Linkage Error
Areas of Concentration:   Econometrics and Public Economics
References:   Jack Porter (main adviser), Christopher Taber, and Felix Elwert

Xiaoye Tian

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   xtian37@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Role of Long-Term Contracting in Business Lending
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Financial Economics, Applied Econometrics
References:   Jean-François Houde, Kenneth Hendricks, Dean Corbae

Joanna Venator

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   venator@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   Dual Earner Migration, Earnings, and Unemployment Insurance
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Public Economics, Urban Economics
References:   John Kennan, Matthew Wiswall, Jesse Gregory, Jason Fletcher

Yingtong Xie

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   yingtong.xie@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Impact of Pension Plan Shift on Household Risk Exposure”
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics, Household Finance
References:   Ananth Seshadri, Dean Corbae, Erwan Quintin, Gwen Eudey (teaching), Noah Williams (teaching)

Yu (Alan) Yang

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   alan.yang@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Place-Based College Admission, Migration and the Spatial Distribution of Human Capital: Evidence from China
Areas of Concentration:   Public Economics, Labor Economics, Economics of Education
References:   Jeffrey Smith, Christopher Taber, Matthew Wiswall

Jian Zhang

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   jzhang648@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Doubly Robust Estimation and Inference of High dimensional Transformed Model”
Areas of Concentration:   Econometric Theory, Nonparametric Estimation
References:   Bruce Hansen, Jack Porter, Joachim Freyberger

Chen Zheng

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   czheng37@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Unintended Consequences of Policy Interventions: Evidence from Home Affordable Refinance Program
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Finance, Public Economics
References:   Jean-François Houde (main advisor), Alan Sorensen, Kenneth Hendricks

Andrey Zubanov

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   zubanov@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The TV Advertising Market: Demographic Segmentation and the Impact of Viewership Decline
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics
References:  Alan Sorensen, Jean-François Houde, Lorenzo Magnolfi, Jesse Gregory

Post-Doctoral Candidates

Wontae Han

CV   ·   Personal Webpage   ·   hanwontae@cuhk.edu.cn
Job Market Paper:   Pricing-to-Market, Imperfect Financial Market Integration, and Optimal Monetary Policy
Areas of Concentration:   International Macroeconomics, Business Cycle and Monetary Policy in Open Economies
References:   Charles Engel, Kenneth West, Jian Wang

Ryan Veiga

CV  ·   Personal Website   ·    ryan.veiga@gmail.com
Job Market Paper:   “School-Level Heterogeneity in Selective Teacher Retention”
Areas of Concentration:   Economics of Education, Educational Evaluation, Inequality in Education Access
References:   Robert Meyer, Christopher Taber,  Anthony Milanowski