Job Market Candidates 2021-22

Placement Director
Prof. John Kennan
608-262-5393
jkennan@ssc.wisc.edu

Placement Administrator
Becca George
608-263-3879
becca.george@wisc.edu

Adibah Abdulhadi

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   aabdulhadi@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Selection in Disability Insurance Market”
Areas of Concentration:   Public Economics, Labor Economics, Social Insurance
References:  Jeffrey Smith (co-chair), Naoki Aizawa (co-chair), Matthew Wiswall, J. Michael Collins

Sahber Ahmadi-Renani

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   ahmadirenani@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Optimal Taxation of Families over the Life Cycle”
Areas of Concentration:   Public Finance, Labor Economics, Child Development, Household Finance
References:   Matthew Wiswall, Naoki Aizawa, Corina Mommaerts

Yeon Ju Baik

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   ybaik2@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Reposting and Pricing in Online Platform
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
References:   Alan Sorensen, Jean-François Houde, Kenneth Hendricks, Darcy Fudge Kamal

Gary Baker

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   gary.baker@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Consumer theory for cheap information
Areas of Concentration:  Economic Theory, Information Economics, Statistical Decision Theory
References:   Lones Smith (advisor), Daniel Quint, Marek Weretka, Elizabeth Kelly (teaching)

Dan Beemon

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   beemon@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Job Search, Wage Dispersion, and Universal Healthcare
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Health Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References:   Christopher Taber, Naoki Aizawa, Chao Fu, Gwyn Pauley (teaching)

Yuteng Cheng

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   ycheng74@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Mandatory Retention Rules and Bank Risk
Areas of Concentration:   Banking, Financial Markets and Contracts, Macroeconomics
References:   Dean Corbae, Erwan Quintin, Roberto Robatto, Jean-François Houde

Marco Duarte

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   duartefilho@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Hub-and-Spoke Collusion with Horizontally Differentiated Spokes
Areas of Concentration:   Empirical Industrial Organization
References:   Kenneth Hendricks, Jean-François Houde, Lorenzo Magnolfi, Christopher Sullivan

Yulia Dudareva

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   dudareva@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Human Capital Investment and College Sorting”
Areas of Concentration:   Quantitative Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Family Economics
References:   Ananth Seshadri, Simeon Alder, Elizabeth Kelly (teaching)

Samuel P. Engle

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   sengle2@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Comparing variance estimators: a test-based relative-efficiency approach
Areas of Concentration:   Econometrics
References:   Jack Porter (chair), Bruce Hansen, Mikkel Sølvsten, Harold Chiang

Renata Gaineddenova

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   gaineddenova@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Pricing and Efficiency in a Decentralized Ride-Hailing Platform”
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Economics of Digitization
References:   Jean-François Houde (co-chair), Alan Sorensen (co-chair), Kenneth Hendricks

Rosemary Kaiser

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   rkaiser3@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Alternative Work Arrangements: Business and Life Cycle Implications
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics, Labor Economics
References: Dean Corbae, Kim Ruhl, Kenneth West, Elizabeth Kelly (teaching)

Olga Kiseleva

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   kiseleva@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Why do high-quality sellers buy more fake reviews? Evidence from Amazon”
Areas of Concentration:   Empirical Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics
References: Alan Sorensen, Lorenzo Magnolfi, Jean-François Houde

Annie Soyean Lee

Credentials: Pronouns: she/her/hers

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   annie.lee@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:  “Why Do Emerging Economies Borrow in Foreign Currency?
Areas of Concentration:   International Finance, Macroeconomics
References:   Charles Engel (chair), Kim Ruhl, Kenneth West

Yue Li

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   yue.li@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “A Theory of Limited Edition Products
Areas of Concentration:   Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Marketing
References:   Marek Weretka, Kenneth Hendricks, Raghunath Rao

Joel McMurry

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   mcmurry2@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Childcare Policy and Informal Care
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Public Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References:   Matthew Wiswall, Christopher Taber, Ananth Seshadri, Naoki Aizawa

Cici McNamara

Credentials: Pronouns: she/her/hers

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   cmcnamara6@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Health Information Technology and Innovation Diffusion in Primary Care Settings
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Health Economics
References:   Alan Sorensen, Kenneth Hendricks, Christopher Sullivan, John Mullahy

Mark Rempel

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   mrempel@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Patent Wars or Copycat Threats? Protecting Innovation and Market Power with Patent Litigation
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics, Firm Dynamics, Innovation
References:   Dean Corbae, Randall Wright, Rasmus Lentz, Harrison Hong, Antonio Mello

Hans Schwarz

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   schwarz4@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Interaction Effects of Subsidized Childcare and Parental Leave Entitlements on Labor Market Outcomes: Evidence from Germany”
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Public Economics, Applied Econometrics
References:   John Kennan (chair), Jeffrey Smith, Christopher Taber, Jason Fletcher

Sandra Spirovska

Credentials: Pronouns: she/her/hers

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   spirovska@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Migration Opportunities, College Enrollment and College Major Choice
Areas of Concentration:   Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Migration
References:  John Kennan (chair), Jeffrey Smith, Christopher Taber

Anna Trubnikova

CV-coming soon   ·   Personal Website-coming soon   ·   trubnikova@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “E-banking adoption and consumer demand for deposits”
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Finance
References:   Jean-François Houde (Chair), Alan Sorensen, Lorenzo Magnolfi

Ziwei Wang

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   ziwei.wang@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Rationalizable Stability in Matching with One-Sided Incomplete Information
Areas of Concentration:   Game Theory, Matching Theory, Information Economics
References:   Marzena Rostek, Daniel Quint, Marek Weretka

Yixi Yang

CV  ·   Personal Website   ·   yyang239@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “An Equilibrium Model of Traffic Accidents
Areas of Concentration:   Microeconomic Theory, Applied Microeconomics
References:   Lones Smith, Daniel Quint, Marek Weretka

Jian Zhang

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   jzhang648@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Doubly Robust Estimation and Inference of High dimensional Transformed Model”
Areas of Concentration:   Econometric Theory, Nonparametric Estimation
References:   Bruce Hansen, Jack Porter, Joachim Freyberger

Anson Zhou

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   anson.zhou@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Building Future Generations: The Macroeconomic Consequences of Family Policies
Areas of Concentration:   Quantitative Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Demographic Economics
References:  Dean Corbae (co-chair), Ananth Seshadri (co-chair), Kenneth West

Wanjia Zhu

Credentials: Pronouns: he/him/his

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   wanjia.zhu@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “The Role of Leasing in Durable Goods Oligopoly with Secondary Markets”
Areas of Concentration:   Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
References:   Alan Sorensen, Jean-François Houde, Kenneth Hendricks

Xinrong Zhu

CV   ·   Personal Website   ·   xzhu245@wisc.edu
Job Market Paper:   “Inference and Impact of Category Captaincy
Areas of Concentration:   Quantitative Marketing, Empirical Industrial Organization
References:   Jean-François Houde (Chair), Jūra Liaukonytė, Alan Sorensen, Kenneth Hendricks

Post-Doctoral Candidates

Dohyeon Lee

CV   ·   Personal Webpage   ·   dohnlee@gmail.com
Job Market Paper:  “Selective Accumulation of Ideas: Accounting for the Decline in Entry Rate and Productivity Growth
Areas of Concentration:   Macroeconomics, International Economics; Economic Growth, Firm Dynamics
References:   Charles Engel, Steven Durlauf, Hugo Hopenhayn, Alan Spearot